Faculty Honors and Recognition

The Chicago Quantitative Alliance (CQA) has awarded Qingzhong Ma, assistant professor of finance, the first-place prize for his paper, “Momentum and Insider Trading.”

Pamela Moulton, assistant professor of finance, was named to present at the Financial Management Association Annual Meeting in Chicago in October. Her paper, titled “Institutional Holding Periods,” was co-authored with Bidisha Chakrabarty and Charles Trzcinka.

The Association for Real Estate Studies (ARES) has given a best-in-category award to a paper co-authored by Crocker Liu, the Robert A. Beck Professor of Hospitality Financial Management, and Desmond Tsang, Associate Professor, McGill University. The paper, titled “CEO Bonus: Alternative Performance Versus Gamesmanship,” was named best in the REITs category at the ARES National Meeting.

Peng (Peter) Liu, associate professor of real estate, has been named the Homer Hoyt/Weimer School post–doctoral honoree. Established in 1982, the Weimer School of Advanced Studies in Real Estate and Land meets in Palm Beach twice yearly and operates in a manner similar to a research seminar or symposium. Professor Liu will participate in the May 2014 Meeting in Palm Beach.

Dan Quan, Singapore Tourism Board Distinguished Professor in Asian Hospitality Management and academic director of the Center for Real Estate and Finance, moderated a roundtable during the October 2013 Hotel Real Estate Forum, hosted by the Washington, DC/Baltimore Cornell Hotel Society chapter. Panelists included Scott Berman ’84, industry leader, hospitality and leisure, PricewaterhouseCoopers; Michelle Russo ‘87, president and founder, HotelAVE; George Dabney, CFO and MD of treasury, Thayer Lodging Group; and Art Adler ‘78, MD and CEO for the Americas, Jones Lang LaSalle Hotels & Hospitality Group.

Jan deRoos, HVS Professor of Hotel Finance and Real Estate, spoke at the Independent Lodging Congress in Philadelphia during November on management contracts for independent hotels.