EMI Academic Advisory Board

The Academic Advisory Board of the Emerging Market Institute consists of distinguished academics and experts. The purpose of the board is to:

  • Nurture a collaborative community of experts and academics to exchange ideas and opinions on topics related to Emerging Markets
  • Provide guidance to EMI on the overall direction of its research, its annual report in particular, with a view to enhance the impact of its work

Chairs: Lourdes Casanova and Anne Miroux, Emerging Markets Institute, Samuel Curtis Johnson Graduate School of Management, Cornell University Ithaca, USA


Momina Aijazuddin

Global Head of Microfinance/ Financial Inclusion, International Finance Corporation, U.S.

Veneta Andonova

Dean Faculty of Management, University of Los Andes, Colombia

Taotao Chen

Professor of International Economics & Management in School of Economics & Management, Tsinghua University, U.S.

Antoni Estevadeordal

Faculty at the Barcelona Institute of International Studies IBEI

Paloma Fernández Pérez

Professor of International Business History and Family Businesses, Universitat de Barcelona, Spain

Diego Finchelstein

Professor Escuela de Administración y Negocios, University of San Andres, Argentina

Peter Gammeltoft

Professor at Department of International Economics, Government and Business, Copenhagen Business School, Denmark

Alicia García Herrero

Chief Economist for Asia Pacific at NATIXIS, Senior Advisor at TABF, Mexico

Tarun Khanna

Jorge Paulo Lemann Professor Director South Asia Initiative, Harvard Business School, U.S.

Xavier Mendoza

Former Dean, ESADE Business School, Spain

Moacir Miranda de Oliveira Junior

Dean Faculty of Economic, Administration and Accounting (FEA), University of São Paulo, Brazil

Fred Olayele

Director, Sprott Centre for African Research and Business, Sprott School of Business, Carleton University, Canada

Miguel Otero

Professor of Intenational Political Economy Instituto de Empresa (IE), School of Global and Public Affairs Madrid, Spain

Lorenzo Pavone

Deputy Head of Networks, Partnerships and Gender Division, OECD Development Centre, France

Mike Peng

Jindal Chair of Global Strategy Executive Director, Center for Global Business Jindal School of Management, University of Texas at Dallas, U.S.

Ravi Ramamurti

University Distinguished Professor, International Business and Strategy Director, Center for Emerging Markets, D’Amore Mc Kim School of Business, Northeastern University, U.S.

Subramanian Rangan

Professor of Strategy and Management Abu Dhabi Crown Prince Court Endowed Chair in Societal Progress, INSEAD, France

Lisa Sachs

Director of the Columbia Center on Sustainable Investment and Associate Research Scholar at Columbia Law School

Ari Van Assche

Professor, Department of International Business, HEC Montréal, Canada

Daniel Garrett Van Der Vliet

John and Dyan Smith Executive Director Family Business, S.C Johnson Graduate School of Management, Cornell University, U.S.

Zhaohui Xuan

Chinese Academy of Science and Technology for Development (CASTED), China
James Zhan

James Zhan

Director, Investment and Enterprise Division, United Nations Conference on Trade and Development, Switzerland